What up?

Saw a moving dvd at Bible Study this morning.  A woman answered the call of God to give up all she had (affluence, position, prestige) to minister to the poor who live on a garbage dump in Cairo.  She answered that “tough” call.  She sold all of her possessions and her professorship at university to spend her life taking care of the poorest of the poor – many are Egyptians.  She told us that Egypt has the record for Christian martyrs.  It was an intense experience for me for several reasons.   It sparked memories of my early Christian days when I hit the streets to spread the Gospel and to feed folks homemade soup and sandwiches out of the back of a van.  The rest of the morning held a rush of ideas and sharing of ways we can impact the world around us.  It was an amazing time just to be with these sisters in Christ.  Now, at home, I am reminded of the ways that passion gets sucked out of me.  Being sick can and has been a self-centered monster which takes bites out of my freedom to laugh, to dream and to be.  So much time gets shoved into the process of being treated and getting well.  It’s the same old story.  To use the metaphor of starving a cold and feeding a fever (or is it the other way around?), Putting all of my effort to overcoming the trials of the physical, I starve the spiritual.  After a while, every part of who I am becomes exhausted.  The cares of the world choke out the word and its divine application.  I don’t want to live a passionless, me-centered life.  And here I am.

About linnysue

Just an ordinary girl living with chronic illness and surviving physically, emotionally and spiritually by the grace of God
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

